Tuesday, January 24, 2012

100 Alcatraz ... Really?

First, welcome to the official 100th Post on this Blog. This is both a miracle and an unfortunate necessity. But I will celebrate it all the same.

Hellish week ...
Yes, let's begin this special 100th post on a rant.
Last week was another one of those "shit" always comes in three week.
On Monday I got injured at the gym. I have been waiting to go back to the gym for months now and I just finally got my wish ... When I hurt my damn leg. Hopefully this is not a forever kind of injury and I will be able to go back to my workouts. Patience.
On Tuesday my computer completely crashed. I suspect freaking Skype is the culprit, but I have no evidence yet. So, I waster 2 days getting back to normal. Not so fun.
On Wednesday the car engine light came on. Since I haven't been using it regularly for the past 12 months [damn it] I thought I should take it to the shop immediately and not take any chance.
Now I am driving the most boring rental there is [It's a Dodge Cobalt ... What the F!]. I can't even tell it apart from the other million boring cars around here, so I've had to remember the license plate so that I could find it in the parking lot. 1,000$ later, what a waste of time.

Alcatraz TV series [2012] Fox













The Plot
In 1963,every prisoner and staffer of the infamous Alcatraz prison vanishes without a trace.
The government covers it up and promptly closes Alcatraz and today, the convicts and staff are reappearing.
Detective Rebecca Madsen [Sarah Jones] of the SFPD teams up with Dr Diego Soto [Jorge Garcia], a geek-type dude obsessed with the history of Alcatraz to find one of those convicts who suddenly reappears and commits murders. And that's just the beginning. Someone is bringing these guys back and controling them somehow.
They [Madsen and Soto] begin working for Agent Hauser [Sam Neill], a mysterious and maybe good or maybe bad guy who is involved is all the cover up stuff. 

How bored was I?
I mean, I really couldn't help myself, I lost interest pretty early and only made it through because there was really nothing else to do at the time. I understand that the initial premise of the story might be considered interesting and probably even capable of generating seasons after season of new material [although I wouldn't bet on it]. I think that I am at a point where I cannot muster the patience and curiosity for the "Lost" type of series where everything is a big mystery that gets revealed slowly over the year [and not even in a very satisfying sort of way]. I need something more!

Jorge Garcia, what?
Is Diego Soto the "sidekick." Man oh man, sooooo disappointing. From what I can tell, he is supposed to be the "comic relief" guy. Since none of the other characters have any sense of humor at all and the plot is pretty depressing, he's the only one who should bring some level of levity and relief from all the darkness. And it's not working.













Jorge Garcia is subdued, his reactions are barely visible. A slight eye rolling, a small smirk and one hell of a "raised eyebrow" look that says both I am so sad and I am so happy look. I can't tell the difference.
I understand that this was the pilot and that the characters have to find themselves, but I hope they step to it quick because the Fox execs are not known for their patience and they
obviously have no problem canceling a series after just one episode. [FYI]

Her outfits, OMG!
I don't necessarily adhere to the culturally accepted custom that every woman on screen must always be completely made up, wearing short skirt and low cut tank tops. However, whatever she was wearing was so bad, I was distracted the whole time.
None of the clothes fit, she looked like a 16 year old who ran away from home in 1984. She's had to fend for herself and lives on street. She can't afford to be picky with the clothes and shops at the Salvation Army. Her haircut is homemade and didn't cost her a thing. She's trying to survive by break dancing on the sidewalks. Life is really hard for this chick.
What the Fuck?




















I understand that it is quite annoying when all those supposedly powerful women potraying cops and FBI agents are wearing super high heels you know they can't run in. Or the super tight pants you know they can't scale fences and stuff ...
But please, this is ridiculous and borderline offensive.
Let me give you a hint people of Alcatraz: Look up Audrey Parker on Haven 
Better Right?



















or Olivia Dunham on Fringe that should be a good start.
Real Style





















Thursday, January 5, 2012

099 Bomb Patrol: Afghanistan

Dear France
My departure has been full of regrets and relief. I hate you and I love you at the same time. The paradox is driving me crazy.

Querido Los Angeles, 
Te echo de menos. Te ves asombroso y tu huele estupendo. Saldrás conmigo!

Bomb Patrol: Afghanistan











... Has anyone heard of this show? I was surfing and ended up on G4 and was immediately mesmerized by Bomb Patrol: Afghanistan. It's weird because I even feel uncomfortable calling that a "show." It feels a little bit disrespectful.

I saw an episode with a US Navy EOD unit [Explosive Ordnance Disposal] trying to "clean up" route X. They find, removed and detonate all the IEDs hidden on the road. They have cameras on their helmets and in the trucks and so we see everything. We even see what happens when an IED explodes right under one of the trucks [Buffalo]. The guys inside came out alive but really shaken up.
In another truck, Ricky [soulstealer] tries to get out and there is an orange trip wire right outside his door which means that they are sitting on a bomb. After some discussion, he decides to go out and cut the wire by hand. His strategy works, but when he gets back in the cabin, he can't talk right away, although his face doesn't show it, he is still so freaked out, he needs a moment to recover.

That's a close one














At one point, the bombs kept going off just as the EOD's trucks were passing by and the soldiers figured out that some guy was tracking them and remotely detonating the bombs trying to kill as many soldiers as possible. INSANE. We see it all as it is happening. It's completely terrifying.

The last episode I saw was called "Firefight", it was the most intense hour of television I've ever seen in my life. Bombs, ambushes, firefight, explosions and casualties.
If you can take it, you got to see it.
Here is a small sample:

 


Titan and Dione

With a balanced atmosphere. Wow!





















Tuesday, December 27, 2011

098 Be infinite

My last investigation of 2011

I did achieve something important this year. I ended it completely obsessed with understanding the Higgs Boson particle. But in order to even grasps that, I had to go back to the beginning.
The particles
Th elementary particles [and their spin]
Fermions, quarks and neutrinos
And then the photon [s1] and the graviton [s2]
And then finally the most exciting ideas floating aroud: Dark matter and Higgs Boson.

Guys, I am so proud of myself, I know understand the basics of this image:

Standard Model of Matter
















I am still learning and there's still a lot of confusion floating around in my tired brain. I just wish I knew a theoretical physicist, to talk about all of this.

In the meantime, check out the ATLAS experiment at the Large Hadron Collider in Switzerland.


My first thought of 2012
Do you think human beings can truly understand infinity? Not just as a concept but a true understanding of something without boundaries. Is it beyond human comprehension? Are we biologically incapable of grasping the concept? Or is it just a matter of culture? Or learned thought processes?

What's up with "our" 13.75 billion year old universe?
I've often pondered this:
If "our" universe if infinite, how come it is also expanding?
that's true right? If you are expanding into something, there must be a boundary to expand against, or there's nothing to grow into ...
But then, I realize that we were never actually told that "our" universe is infinite. I just assumed it.
Well, apparently we can't see that far because of the limitations imposed by light speed. The rules are: we can't observe space beyond the limitations of light and so we can't know for sure what the size of the universe is finite or infinite or both or neither. [What the fuuuuuuuck?]

I do vaguely remember Einstein's theory of relativity and something about things mathematically moving towards infinity. All of this is abstract, but there is not mention of real, meaning "non-abstract" state of infinity. I may be wrong and I will begin 2012 with this first investigation.

My first wish of 2012 


Look, there's even a knife involved




















Seeing my Krav Maga instructor again and not make a fool of myself by not being able to get through the lesson because I am so out of shape [I got winded yesterday walking up the stair to my bedroom and it really freaked me out, just thinking about going back to LA and doing that intense workout again, FREAKING OUT]




Happy New Year.



Monday, December 26, 2011

097 Prometheus

The new "much awaited" trailer from my best friend Ridley Scott has arrived. Unfortunately not much of a plot in there. Just an amalgam of lovely shots. This is worrying. They've disseminated the information very sparingly for a while now. A poster, an image and tiny interview and now a trailer that doesn't reveal much at all. Not that I am waiting for ANY spoiler at all, but just confirmation that this is worth all the hype.
Anyway, here is the latest trailer. You will enjoy this one [promise].



This week I walked along this ...

dog shit on the ground right outside the frame















Still in the South of France, in that very small part of the country where it's always sunny and just simply beautiful.
Do I dare criticize? Well, I won't do it directly, I will just mention that everybody is bringing their dogs on the beach [I am sure horses were involved as well]. As to the result of this unfortunate fact, I will let you come to your own conclusion.
This is so annoying, instead of enjoying the view, the air and the sun, I am walking around with my head lowered, eyes to the ground, ready for anything.
It was so much fun.

As far as the rest of the life "ramblings" I don't have much to say right now. That's because I am basically away from everything, taking a break from the densities of Paris, The disgusting dirtiness of urban living and the Assholes of life.

It's a change for sure. And it won't last long ... Be patient.

Another Earth[s] called Kepler-20e and Kepler-20f

Discovered and coveted













I just discovered ...

Well, it's no "Earthlike planet" for sure, but I started to watch The Big Band Theory.
The reason why I've always refused to watch it is because of Johnny Galeky. I don't know what it was, but when I was younger and I saw Roseanne [show] I was extremely disturbed by the Darleen and David relationship and never got over the disgust. So I ignored Big Bang Theory for ... well ... just about 5 seasons.
And then what the fuck? I just learned that he was born in Belgium! I can't believe it. I thought we might have met at some point but no, I don't remember him at all.

Anyway, I am not exactly sure what happened, but nevertheless, I started watching the show and now I can't stop. I am still slightly uneasy, but I got over it thanks to one character: Sheldon Cooper. He's the genius theoretical physicist who is incapable of adhering to any social standards ... Lack of understanding or irony and sarcasm, no rational romantic interest, a type of behavior that is not just eccentric but full on obsessive-compulsive [in my opinion].
I also like the engineer Howard Wolowitz [who doesn't have a Phd] and Rajesh Ramayan "Raj" Koothrappali [who can't talk to women]


Flashy right?













Those guys are eccentrics and nerds to the fullest  ... The only thing is, they're all super intelligent so people understand that, it's what they are. The same guys with lame ass jobs and completely standards IQ would have a hard time in life if they were behaving as the guys are in the show. It's totally unfair for everybody else. Really.

“Yes, well I’m polymerized tree sap and you’re an inorganic adhesive so whatever verbal projectile you launch in my direction is reflected back off of me, returning to it’s original trajectory, and adheres to you.”[Sheldon quote]

Friday, December 16, 2011

096 The Dark Knight Rises [Again]

This week I am here
Somewhere in the South of France














Did you know ...
That last week, I had my last meeting with the HG [as in HypnoGuy]. There is still no resolution in my mind as to what games we are playing, but I have to tell you, it's exhilarating. I am still not bored of it and that's already somewhat of a miracle for me. But I just wish I could fold him and tuck him in my purse. Take him out from time to time [as needed] to discuss the "thought of the day."

Tickles














The legend Ends.




Did you know ...
For months, I avoided all trailers,then spoilers then discussion, anything related toThe Dark Knight [2008] because I missed the theater version and I wanted to make sure that I could watch it anyway, in my own time. When I finally managed to sit down and watch it, I was devastated to find out that  midway through the movie I got so freaked out by the Joker and whatever else was happening that I stopped watching and walked away, just like that. Months of preparation and borderline obsessive avoidance became completely useless and all for nothing. What a sad story.
Should I watch The Dark Knight Rises?

Thought of the day ...
NASA is certainly having some image issues lately, especially with all the "We're not going to send anyone in space anymore."
I understand the logic, but still, sending Man into space is more than money and logistics at this point. It's a dream, it's power and it's bragging right. Who, around here, is not pissed off that the Russians and the Chinese are taking over? Seriously.
And then this week, I found that John Grunsfeld [former astronaut and physicist] has been named the ... [and hold on to your seat on this one, because that's a very wordy title]
New associate administrator for the Science Mission Directorate.

Now, let's be clear, I am not mentionning this because it's such an exciting news to me. I am mentionning this because the announcement was accompanied with this great pic:
Funnyyyyyyy Space Man



















I was laughing pretty hard. AND THEN, believe it or not, that's not even the most pathetic part of the story. This picture of John Grunsfeld immediately reminded me of something I saw a few years back, I dug it out and here it is ...

I do request you




















Memories are funny this way.

Battleship
Did anyone ever think that they would at some point run out of ideas and comic books to base their movies and remakes on? But wait! What about scrabble, monopoly and Trivial Pursuit?
Well, here is Battleship. The trailer looks alrrright. Just not special. I hope I am wrong.




Wednesday, December 14, 2011

095 Hell On Wheels

The AMC effect
Let me start by saying this: "I have always hated Colm Meaney, for no reason at all." There I said it.
He first came to my attention as Miles O'Brien, the transporter chief on the USS Enterprise [ST:Next Generation]

Look at that ugly "smugface"



















The role was quite small at first, so I just had to ignore him, but as the years went by Miles seemed to take more and more screen time. At the time, I just thought that everything about him was completely wrong. The tone, the look, the accent, the overall face ... I don't know. Again, there is absolutely no real reason for the dislike.

This dislike turned into hate when Miles O'Brien reappeared as the Chief of Operations on Deep Space Nine [Also as Chief Engineer on the USS Defiant]
Man oh man, that was just ridiculous. That bogus friendship with Dr Bashir and that bland and uninteresting relationship with his wife Keiko .... What a useless character.

His subsequent appearance in TV shows such as Law and Order: CI and Stargate: Atlantis brought him in and out of my life like a looser acquaintance I could never get rid of.












This brings me to December 2011. A date to remember [surely]. I discovered this little show on AMC called Hell on Wheels.

















Here is a short synopsis of the series [as I understand it, which doesn't say much]

Well, there is this guy who's wife was killed by a Union soldier [the whole thing happens in 1865]. So while looking for the killer, who, if found is going to get it big time, the guy ends up in a settlement that is built around the first transcontinental railroad construction site. So, I am guessing the settlement moves around with it. Colm Meaney plays Thomas 'Doc' Durant the rich entrepreneur who is [I think] overseeing the construction and managing the workers.
He is an overweight and shifty little fellow with tiny little eyes that always convey a certain level of  cunning-sleaziness. And yet, I am able to appreciate him [miracle!]

Still with the smugface














Portrayed on this show are:
Slaves, Native Americans [called Indian in this period piece], preachers, whores, drunks, vengeful armed guys, greedy businessmen, a lot of horses, a lot of mud and dirt, sweaty and basically unwashed smelly looking bodies.
It's pretty cool.
I missed the pilot but I have seen 5 subsequent episodes and I still feel like I've missed the most important setup of the series. I am still not exactly sure what's going on in all the A and B and C plots and subplots [my bad, I am actually streaming this on a 9in square screen, so it's not easy to catch everything]
But for some reason, I am still watching and would love to be able to discuss this with someone else since I seemed to be the only one watching this show.


Other Cool highlights of the day

Light hitting a bottle











A camera capable of visualizing the movement of light has been unveiled by a team of scientists in the US. The equipment captures images at a rate of roughly a trillion frames per second.

The 39th anniversary of the last moon-walk


Wednesday, December 7, 2011

094 SciFI Interlude

Lock-Out!














With Guy Pierce



Cabin in the Woods




















Written by Joss Whedon and Drew Goddard who also happen to be the director of this mysterious flick


Extraterrestrial



















By Nacho Vigalondo



Monday, December 5, 2011

093 Blow(ed)

My last 24 hours in LA were 

... windy. Broken trees, streets littered with papers, vegetation ... And then, around the corner, this beautiful sight:

















That's how bad things got.

Paris ... Welcome back K
It's raining and super wet and humid everywhere. I am going to hate the next 10 days [all just raining and grey as predicted by the weather channel.]

My first ride back on the metro went like this:

Random old woman [whom I will call TOB as in; The Old Bag] gets on the already overcrowded metro. Both my purse and my computer hang from my shoulder.
TOB:
You could lower your bag down on the ground it takes less room.
Me: 
No, I am not doing that, no way. Not  moving it down.
TOB:
It would take less room you know...
Me: [Thinking: Are you insane? What do you want from me B?....]
No, I don't want to lower my bag, it's just inviting pickpockets to go ahead and have a good time with my cash.
TOB: 
No one is going to steal it, you're just lowering it down.
Me: [Thinking: Listen Lady ... Your naivete is touching, but you're starting to piss me off]
I don't know why you're insisting, there's no way in hell I am EVER going to let my bag down.
TOB:
Well, there's no need to be rude about it.
Me: [Thinking: Fuuuuuuuuuck me!]
Listen, you asked me, I am answering you, now deal with it.

Weird.



Monday, November 28, 2011

092 LaLa Land

This week I am here:

























It's hot ... So hot that we have to wear flip flops and tank tops ...
It smells good. The air is fresh ...
Mexican food ...
Sun ...
Beaches ...
Peeps ...
And it feel very very good.


The Walking Dead












Watched 5 episodes of season two. This show is just good. I do need to fast forward a few scenes from time to time, but as a whole, I definitely don't do it as much with this show. The only thing that kept distracting me was John Bernthal who plays Shane. He's got the biggest earlobes I've ever seen. They are sooo gigantic and thick as hell, that's all I can see when he's on screen [ close up] It's hard to explain the extend of the problem in pictures, you have to see the show and I hope I am not spoiling the series for everyone.





















The mid season finally has the particular distinction of having surprised me and that's not easy.  Everything else, I guessed and anticipated.

They lose a young girl [Sophia]
They end up on a farm and stay there while scouring the area every day looking for her.
At one point, at the bottom of a well, they find this:












They hope to stay on the farm indefinitely [Overall, it's pretty free of walkers ... or so they think]
They discover that the family on the farm in keeping a dozen walkers hidden in the barn.
They are the mother, neighbors, brother of the family who considers them "sick" and want to preserve and protect them until they can be fixed/saved/helped ... Whatever. Super delusional.
Both the farm family and the group argue about what to do
The options are limited. They can leave the farm which they don't want to do because it's relatively safe there and coincidentally, the wife of the sheriff is pregnant [the baby might not be his either!]
They can remain on the farm, but in that case they have to leave the walkers alone and just adapt to the situation.
Shane totally looses it [for reasons I won't go into but it's an interesting arc]
In the end, through a set of circomstances, the barn doors are opened
They are forced to kill all the walkers. The shooting begins.

Finally, the camera pans out, showing the walkers bodies strewn on the ground.
Standing over them are the others, holding their smoking guns.
And then ... growling, ragged breathing sounds can be heard coming from inside the barn
Something is coming out .... It's Sophia, the girl they've spend this whole season looking for.
Bummer! She's preeeetty dead.
The shock on their faces! Priceless, the scene was shot to perfection. I couldn't help it but hold my breath.

The last beat ends with the sheriff and the girl walking towards each other and then ... He shoots her in the head.
Fantastic.

Here it is: 


Friday, November 18, 2011

091 The Eye Of The Beholder

Went to the Dassault Systems conference at EuroDisney

Met Mickey ...















Saw some great Live simulations ...














Inside the body live 3d view on a 3d TV ...















The Audi R8 ...















Hypno Guy
Went to the Hypno guy last week. We were discussing the idea of beauty and disagreeing on several point. In the end, to prove MY point [which was the right one] I had to recount a very special episode of the Twilight Zone called "The eye of the beholder." He seemed so surprised with the fact that a girl was using SciFi to support a philosophical point. I was annoyed that he was so surprised.















My weekend in the South
I do enjoy my time away from Paris. The south is so relaxing and a complete moment of fresh air. It's been raining hard over there and the roads around the village were under water. No problem, as long as something is going on, I like it.

TV watching
I finally made the decision to stop watching Terra Nova. If I have time later, I might to a little Hulu or OnDemand, but I won't tape the show anymore. It's just not worth it. too bad.

I tried watching Rage of the Yeti because it featured David Hewlett who also directed it. I have to say, this was worst than Morlocks. I couldn't even watch more than about 20 minutes and I felt super generous about it too. That's doubly sad.

I am running out of space on the DVR again. I get home so late that I can't watch more than a couple of hours when I am actually taping 5. That's getting me in all sort of troubles.

Lost Fringe this week.



Tuesday, November 8, 2011

090 Shufalk

On the way to LA ...
















 ... Got upgraded to 1st class on the way back to LA. It is Air France, which is supposed to be one of the better airlines when it comes to first class. Certainly not like Delta or American.
You can't even compare. However, Ultimately I don't really think it's worth it.

Reasons why it's a great experience:
1. Bragging right AND the feeling that you are above everybody else. "Superior" is the word.
For 12 hours, I was the person I usually hate. And it felt freaking good.

Reasons why I can't be bothered:
1. The difference between economy and Business is pretty huge and there is no question about it, the difference in basic comfort level is mind bogling and certainly worth it on these long flight.
But the difference between 1st and business is almost non existant. Really, trust me on this.
The bed is not that much more comfortable and the movies and the same.
2. The TV's were stuck in the furniture, the flight attendant had to use knives to release them.
3. I was really annoyed when the flight attendant kept asking me questions after questions, it was sooooo annoying I could not believe it. She was so intrusive with all her questions. And then she was not even listening to me.
HER:
When would you like your dinner server?
ME:
What?
HER:
You can chose to have you meal [or not] any time.
ME:
I don't know, just go ahead and serve it at the same time as the business class section.
HER:
in 1 hour?
ME:
I don't know, whenever they get their meal is when I want mine.

1/2 HOUR LATER

HER:
The person next to you wants her meal served now, do you mind if I server you at the same time?
ME:
[I said] Uh?
[I was thinking] Why the fuck did we just go through this inane conversation if you're going to serve me at YOUR convenience anyway?

I was so over it.


Back to Paris















I barely saw the time go by. I am already back in Paris, going through the usual motions. The Ahole is still not talking to me. That's fine, F....you too.


Countdown has been restarted the reflect the new dates.

The weather is TERRIBLE. It's very, very dark and gray all day long. It is drizzling every five minutes, it's cold but not enough to cool the underground metro. So, you're freezing outside and sweating in the metro. Just perfect.

The French are getting all excited about "Noel". They're catching on the red and sparkly fever. To me, it just feels wrong here.

Homeless Shufalk
This morning, as I do every morning, I walked underground trying to get to my metro as fast as possible. I keep wanting to take pictures of all this insanity, but I really want to remain stealth-like and I can't get good shots that way. I will keep trying, because this would be much more entertaining to be able to describe with the help of some imagery. It is after all ... PRICELESS.

I had to walk across the homeless dormitory [bunch of guys sleeping on the floor in random hallways] and the homeless bathroom [several corners known to the authorities]. There was this one guy, very smelly who cut me off with his super slow shufalk [shuffle-walk], once again, I was annoyed to no end.
There are soooo many things completely wrong about that. I don't know where to start.

Once again ... 
Tank you Captain Archer for all your support during these trying times.















Screenshot of my desktop. The Xindi sphere from "Proving Ground."

Thursday, October 27, 2011

089 Imminent Departure

Countdown is almost up. One more day and that's it. We're gone.

Here is one of the latest picks from the facade.


















It's looking better but I am still freaking out about possible mistakes and "not-so-good-looking" areas. We'll see, I may get to go back soon and see it again when it's done.


Here is a funny little meeting between Steven Merchand, Ricky Gervais and Johnny Depp. Mildly funny and yet, I enjoyed it.

See you soon in LA.

Tuesday, October 25, 2011

088 Consciousness

Went to the south of France this weekend. And saw this really cute pig who was using the goat for warmth and reassurance.





























Poor kid. He really looked scared.

HypnoDubiousness

I just don't know anymore. I want to believe that the hypno guy is helping but I am starting to think that we are just playing games and indulging each other. Great conversation and very, very fun intellectual games of cat and mouse. Talk of philosophy and religion, life and even some very informative discussion about the neurological map of our "consciousness."

The game is definitely on. I am trying to read into everything he does. Where is the lie? Where is the strategy? Is everything he says true or just a way to manipulate me?
It's driving me nuts and he knows it.
The hypnosis in itself is not always apparent and I am sure that I don't recognize all the moments he is actually trying to influence me. It's pretty sick because it means that the guy is a "master" manipulator. I wonder if all the people who get into that kind of profession spend their time playing with their patients minds ... That is such a dangerous and terrifying thing to even think about.

In the meantime I keep going hoping that each time will be better and more entertaining than the last. Although at this point we should just become friends and hang out, that's going to be much cheaper for me even if I pick up the tab every time.
Sad really.

2 ...

... more days until I go back to LA. That feels good. Really good. I get to leave this very, very heavy and annoying working environment.

Thank you ...
Sam, Jack, Daniel and Tiel'c for being there with me, every day.
I owe you one.





Tuesday, October 18, 2011

087 Move on kid

 
Opening News ... Apollo14













Kind of interesting. The astronaut Edgar Mitchell who was on Apollo14 mission just go in trouble when NASA discovered he came back with a camera that was supposed to stay there. That's such bullshit. We've littered the moon and mars already, let's not add to it. And now, we get to rediscover a piece of history. The guy is old, leave him alone.


So long Memphis Beat












I knew this was going to happen ... I am talking about the cancellation. Even I didn't like the second season of this show and I was very enthusiastic about the whole thing. But if they can't even be bother to continue with the side story or even give their characters some depth, then it's not worth it. I am not saying that there should be high drama all around, but two guys going around and investigating without some underlying story just gets pretty boring after a while. They had such a good opportunity to do more, especially when they all knew that the second season was such a close call.
What are we supposed to do now? Watch Rizzoli and Isle? Franklin and Bash? SHOOT ME NOW.

Get out of here ... Really?  Terra Nova











I've watched 3 episodes so far and I can't express how... disappointed I was. This was such a good opportunity to do something unique and entertaining, all this money, production power [They even got Brannon Braga], studio backing [100% I hear]. And yet, they're giving us story lines that are so predictable, it's not even worth waiting till the end, we already know what's going to happen. The characters are also soooooooo freaking boring and predictable. I just don't get it. It looks like they're trying to please everyone from pre teens to seniors and all in between by giving us such cliche, I mean, is there an inside joke I don't get?
At some point, you just have to make some decision otherwise everything gets completely washed down to nothing and people are going to walk away ...

Welcome back ... Walking Dead Season 2












Feels good to watch some quality "something" from time to time. Hopefully all the behind the scene disputes are resolved and we can go back to watching the show.


Book End News
Here is one of the latest images of the facade. It looks good from here. Still making me nervous but I promise, I will get over it at some point. And I will write a blog about it for sure.

Thursday, October 6, 2011

086 Global Mind Control

Here we go. I am now here [again] in the french metro underground cave-like endless tunnels.

















Air French
I have been traveling so much lately that I must be on some kind of "Special" list with Air France. On the last few flights I've gotten a personalized greeting from the crew thanking me for being such a great customer.
"You're welcome."
 I am also a Platinum Member ....... That's a really big deal.

Bad Analogies
Whitney from The Hills was on my plane this week. It was funny. For sure, people don't need to wear Prada and Louis Vuitton in order to ooooze superiority and a sense of entitlement but somehow she manages.
The cameras were not following her and she was not traveling in first class. But the attitude ...
I thought it was funny so for me, no problem. No one acted like they knew who she was and no one approached her to ask either.
The thing that really cracked me up though was that she was wearing what I would call the"Sinbad" pants [very 80s if you know what I mean.]

Respite
I am definitely going to count the days until I get to go back home and out of that a...hole's reach. That would be so fantastic. So on I've included a couple of counters on the side here [to the right]
and then, below is the paper counter I will carry with me until the end of December.
Here is my secret day counter -



















SciFi Bubble















Stargate DVDs running in the background all day long, that's my outlet for now. Except that with 12 hour days adding up to almost 200hrs of work until I come back to LA ... I just don't have enough CDs with me here to fill all that time up.
What am I going to do?

Mind Control














I got hypnotized yesterday. I gave the guy a specific list of things. I told him he needed to do "the thing that doesn't work" and basically perform a miracle. Here is the list:

1. Please remove the anger and the hate [especially the hate.]
2. Please remove the anxiety caused by 1.
4. Please give me some sleep caused by 1 and 2 and jetlag.
5. Please, oh please, give me this super power: An invisible shield that repels and destroy everything around me.

So, that's the big list.

It was interesting because for the second time, I felt some weirdness going on. My body felt heavy and there was a faint buzzing in my ears. Other weirdness:
I felt completely in control and awake. There was absolutely NO WAY I was not aware. So then I asked him what he was doing and how did he or anyone for that matter know exactly if this thing works or not. He explained to me that there are a variety of "levels" of hypnosis and that it could happen on a very deep level as well as in a completely subtle way. So, I decided to look into it on my own and here is what I discovered: there is a wide range of hypnosis going from awakened
suggestive conversation to deep, sleep transe-like state.The guy might use hypnotic suggestions during a conversation ... A certain voice tone and cadence for example. He can also make comments and observations which lead me [the patient] towards something specific.

There is a subtlety here that permeates the conversation and ultimately affects/creates a certain relationship. It's very interesting. For those who speak French, here is the website for the hypno guy -http://www.orgadia.com/. He bases is work on the Erikson's method [The guy was an American, which in itself is also a very interesting story.]

I can only imagine the kind of manipulation potential there could be if I could only learn how to do this. 
Cancel the invisible shield power. The super power I really want is the mind control one. Yes, that would be better. World domination super secret plan. Beautiful.