Thursday, June 24, 2010

049 Best RO ever!

This is a very, very cool video of a robot developed by Boston Dynamics for military application. This video has been around for a while, but I just couldn't help myself and include it in here ... For fun.

BigDog















Pretty impressive.

Monday, June 21, 2010

048 Fandemaniacs

I was in Dallas y'all.
Went to Dallas on business last week. In addition to the usual meetings, we had a fund raising Thursday night and a breakfast fundraising on Friday morning. 50 million dollars was the goal. Dallas was hot and humid, but people were just so very nice, as usual.
I started getting nauseous on Thursday only a few hours after getting there. I have a couple of problems with the food. Quantities and Qualities. Too much food and really heavy stuff. By Friday afternoon I was just spending my time trying not to throw up. Difficult to do in the plane, when across the aisle, one kid throws up on take off and another throws up on landing. Just beautiful. It has been said that I am so used to breathing the beachy-smogy LA air, that if I leave it for too long, I start dying little by little ... "That's just crazy talk." My theory makes way more sense: I think I might be allergic to the Lone star state.... Damn.

Back in LA, dude.
After an 11hour sleep night, I felt a little better. Went to work again in the morning and got sick again that night. Just delightful. Trying to book Palm Springs next week for some R&R. I already feel guilty about taking off when we have yet another gigantic deadline.

Fandemonium: "I like it alright!"

Since I had so much time to read [with all the plane rides and all ...] I downloaded a few books on my phone.
A few weeks ago, I discovered Fandemonium. A friend of mine had been talking to me about it, suggesting I read them "For research purposes." So, I obliged and picked up "A Matter Of honor"[Part I} which was quickly followed by "The Cost Of Honor." Great stuff. The self-imposed research became a guilty pleasure and I quickly realized that I liked it ... A lot. I am gong to have to read all the SG1 and SGA books. I did hear that some were not so good and since I started, I have noticed that it is the case, I just don't care. I am, however not such a fan of the ST:E series. The stories and the characters don't always feel right and Trip is taking over most of the stories. And where the hell is Archer? Anyway, I could talk for hours about that. Maybe I'll get into STNG, I wouldn't mind getting some fresh Picard stories.
Anyway, I am glad I started reading the books, the initial skepticism is gone, I am now a true believer. I have however also come to the conclusion that I am not necessarily interested in branching out in that realm. Too many restrictions for my taste.
The soooo so good:
It's actually pretty incredible when you think about it. Usually, when reading a book, everything is visualized entirely from the author's description of things; Context [architecture], people's physical attributes and behavior ... Everything is only as clear as you can imagine it with the help of the one who wrote it in the first place. In the case of Fandemonium, it's completely different. the stories are more vivid, the action feels more complete and there is a certain depth in everything that is happening in the story simply because the reader already has a very good idea of what things actually look and sound like. So the leap of imagination it takes to actualize the story has already partially been made by watching the shows. That's definitely the good part about reading these kinds of books. Of course it's never going to be "High Art" and the quality of the writing and the plots varies tremenduously from author to author. But as pure entertainment, just like the shows are, I think it makes sense and apparently a lot of other people think so too. Is it harder to write? Yes, I think it is.
The not so good:
The biggest problem I have with this type of "novelization" is that since we already know all the characters so well, the moment the author makes a mistake, whenever something is off, it immediately disrupts the whole flow of the story.
I think I've only experience this twice on SG - Once with Daniel and I think once with Rodney. I was so annoyed by it that it took me a while to get back in the story. the good side of this is that we finally get some insight into the mind of characters that are usually not explored as much as they could be. And because we know EVERYONE so well, it's absolutely fun to read while actually seeing it in your mind, I mean, we already know what most of it looks like.

Next time, I think I'll have to post a very raw, very short synopsis of the next story I am working on. I think it's going to be good. Although it the second installment in the series [the main characters are already developed], I think that the Intro. is setup in a way that the reader doesn't need to know who they are. But whatever.
Hopefully, I get some time this summer to finish the story. That would be quite a miracle, wouldn't it?

Thursday, May 20, 2010

047 We're coding this week.

I realized this morning that it's been a while since I wrote. Not that I didn't have anything to say in the last couple of weeks [or more] but the content seemed either too strong opinion wise or just too plain/boring to be shared. Although I should feel free to share, whenever I try to put the thoughts down on paper, I just can't find the right kind of inspiration.
The other problem I encounter repeatedly is that time goes by so fast, I never really have the opportunity to look back at "Things" and digest.
So, this week I will just point out two things:
1. Trailers from
Super 8 [JJ and Spielberg]
Iron Sky 
Detective Dee [Tsu Hark]
The Adjustment Bureau 
The Killer Inside Me 
Inception
... and on and on and on.
2. A bunch of new interviews coming out around the web with cast of SGA [mostly.] Since most of them are no really working that hard right now [I say this in a positive way], they all have a lot of time for conventions, so we get the goods.
3. And finally, to end on a nerda-funky-lucious-note ...

Monday, April 26, 2010

046 TNG and those who don't know what that means

A friend of mine is taking tennis lessons. She was paired up with a guy whom she says is really, really cute. She talked about him often, he was just a cool guy.
 The other day he missed one of the classes and when she asked the others where he was, they told her that he was at a Star Trek convention. When he came back she teased him about incessantly about  the whole “Star Trek fan” thing only to be told [by him] that he isn’t going to the conventions as a fan but as a guest. When she questioned him further, he told her that he is an actor and was in several of the series. “Which ones?” she asked. “Oh, I played a character named Worf.” She apologized to him and told him that she has never seen Star Trek and has absolutely no idea who Worf is.

What a waste.

Monday, April 5, 2010

045 Newww Yark

D-day [0]

Arriving at the loft in Manhattan I got stuck at the front door, the key would not go in. That was so damned annoying to me. I called a lot of people in LA and NY to finally find out that I was at the wrong door. What the hell??????
It never occurred to me that there could be another door for the same apartments. Anyway, long story short, after 40 minutes of standing outside in the rain, trying to get this door open, I finally got in.
The irony [and I am not laughing AT ALL] of the whole thing is that there is in fact a problem with the lock on the right door and I ended up getting stuck outside again for 20 minutes the next night.

Day after [1]
Good morning NY. It is pouring outside and I had a long walk ahead of me that morning. It’s 8am in NY but it’s 5am in LA. Needless to say, I am going to need a latte today. I was ready for the rain, I brought a long trench coat and an umbrella with me. The only thing I had not anticipated was the “horizontality” of the rain. Yes, I guess it does happen in NY, when wind is blowing, the rain follows. Wet and tired [I repeat WET and TIRED], I made it to my destination.

One more day [2]
On Wednesday night I couldn’t sleep. I spent hours and hours tossing and turning. The  temperature in the apartment was around 90 [although it was barely 32 outside]. These stupid buildings with that central heating thing. I guess the heat comes into the apartment, we have no control and my weak little hands could not open the windows. I was dying, I just couldn’t breathe. As the night went on, I got angrier and angrier, finally at 3am I finally gave up and turned the AC on.
The AC is another little gem in this apartment. It’s one of those window units that is loud in a very inconsistent way, so I could never get used to the sounds because it changed all the time and in the end, it kept waking me up every 5 minutes. Dilemna: Heat stroke or noise pollution? I am going to need a latte in the morning.

And one more [3]
Today, I am lucid enough during my morning walk. I decide to take some picks I like to call “StreetCap.” Basically I walk around the city holding my phone in my hand, very casually and once in a while, click the camera/capture. Whatever happens, happens, I don’t know what’s been captured in the moment. At the end of the walk, I check the picks and select the ones I like best. Crude but fun.


7th Avenue between 39th street and 27th street in Manhattan.





Ran into Al Pacino. I was surprised how old he looks. Older than I remember for sure. All those guys are often a disappointment. We always hear about the camera adding 10 lbs. but I would use this opportunity to remind people that it also takes 10, sometimes 20 years off your face.
Ran into Anna Paquin also in Los Angeles this weekend right after coming back from NY. She looks exactly like she does on the screen. Except that she kept making faces. Something in between "smile, people are looking at you" and "don't smile, avoid eye contact because people are looking at you." Both faces at the same time does NOT work. She just looked weird.

My last night in NY …

Started at one bar with mojitos and a drink called “The old fashion”.  I was cracking up the whole night with this “Old fashion”. If someone tells me, “K, let’s go get an “Old fashion,” the first thing that goes through my mind is, “what the hell! That’s so dirtyyyyyy.” When in fact, they’re only referring to a drink. Anyway, I could not get over it and as the night went on, as I got more and more impaired by the alcohol, it became funnier and funnier to me.
Three bars later, at 2am, I decided that I had been awake way too long, I was exhausted. I knew I needed to wake up at 4am to get to JFK, so I promptly hailed a cab and went home. I did not sleep that night, not at all. The next morning [or two hours later] the car dropped me off at JFK, I got on the plane where I did not sleep [I know, ridiculous right?] Once in LA, I picked up my car and then ran to the gym, where I had made an appointment the previous week. Now ... We all do stupid things in life, we even manage to repeat those stupid things over and over again, it’s just human nature. So when I made the gym appointment the week before, knowing that I would have to get there straight from the airport, I should have anticipated the repercussions of such a decision. It only makes sense. Was I thinking then? Not necessarily, but it made perfect sense at the time. I stupidly thought that I would be ok and would have no problems working out with my trainer right after the whole NY debacle. I was wrong of course. It was painful and I almost died a couple of time.
After that, the rest of the weekend was a blur, I barely remember what happened, just a lot of “naps” and a lot of catching up on TV. A real blur. Until the earthquake that is. Yes, we do tend to have some of those around here but I was still so drowsy that I actually thought it was me. This was the most gentle, smooth earthquake I’ve ever experienced. In the end, we all made it, the furniture made it, nothing to freak out about. We all know the big one is coming, so in the meantime, let’s just hang out and enjoy our worldly possessions and our health while we still can …. [what a bunch of crap.]

While I was gone, I had the shop guys print a couple of models.






In conclusion, despite what people may think, I did have a great time in NY. Going there for small periods of time is fine with me. I don't think I want to move to Manhattan, but I liked it there.
We should all remember that this site is called "Hollowed Mind: Ramblings on Obsessions and Indifference - Dreams - Movies - Work - Life." So I tend to use this forum for all the things that go through my mind and that are not necessarily politically correct, happy or fun. I don't want to hear myself talk about how cute and how fun life is. I want to hear about what I really think about and what's going through my mind "ON THE SPOT." It's often twisted and maybe a little bit dark sometimes but I like it.

Sunday, March 28, 2010

044 April is coming

NY
Well, crap, I’m going next week … for work.

I guess making the best out of this situation would be the mature way to handle it. So, I will try to be mature. What a drag.

CARGO
The Swiss just made their first big Scifi and it’s called Cargo. Apparently the trailer doesn’t do it justice, nor does the synopsis. That’s what people tell me. I think that the trailer makes the movie look and feel exactly like Pandorum. It’s weird. I am curious to see what the Swiss are capable of.

[more TV stuff again. It's the season]

SGU
Yeah, our baby is back! Despite the low ratings and the lack of gossip going around about the show, I know a lot of “normal” people who are not obsessive about Stargate or even Scifi in general … And they like SGU. And guess what? I like it too. I just can’t believe how much money they are getting to produce this series and it makes me think that Atlantis would have been a million times better if they only had been given access to the same budget. The amount of “corner cutting” that was going on with Atlantis was insane. I guess we were always proud of the guys for managing it and finding inventive solutions to compensate for the shortcomings caused by the lack of money. But I personally was starting to get tired of the whole thing.
I was so nervous about SGU that I kept taping the episodes without watching them. Keeping it for later, and later, and later. In the end, the second half of the season is starting soon and I still have to watch Earth, Time, Life and Justice. I am savoring each episode, even if I still have some issues with the endless character development [thank you BG.] But it looks so good, I am willing to let it unfold slowly.

FRINGE
Looking forward to the return of one of the most underrated series this season. It’s good but has a tinge of old school X-File-ish vibe and at the same time, it’s definitely related to Lost in the may that the story is told. Do I care? Just a little bit. As I said before, Lost worked for me during the first season. I taped the whole second season before watching it because I couldn’t stand the wait between episode, thinking the whole time that there were not many answers and too many questions on top of questions. Frustrating as hell. I then taped the third season and watched it all at once but this time I actually did a lot of fast forwarding which didn’t really help. After that, I stopped watching it all together while asking friends and relatives for a synopsis of each week’s episode. I did stop asking after a while. For the final season, I make sure to stay away, just in case I want to get into it again later. What a mess.
Anyway, Fringe is good fun and entertaining. We get to learn more about Bishop and son next week and that’s always a good thing.

FLASHFORWARD
I don’t know, I am not really watching it anymore. What happened?

HOUSEWIVES: NYC
Those chicks are insane. Sometimes I really wonder if we have just lost all perspective on life and humanity in general. Can people be so shallow, annoying, stupid, wasteful and fake? Yes, I guess they can. Over and over again.

AX MEN – DEADLIEST CATCH
None of those shows are chick show and yet, I really enjoy it so much. It’s funny and so very interesting. Anyway, after DC’s Captain Phil died, things were looking pretty bleak. But this week, the crews are coming back strong. Anticipation is high. Great.

24
Blah blah blah … blah. I am so disgusted with this show now, I don’t even know why. While I was watching it, at 4am lat night, I was thinking about it, trying to figure out why this show is no longer something I can stand. I think Keif’ is the problem. There are some obvious physical aspects of the guy that I am having difficulties with. One, it looks like he is getting smaller but his skin is the same. So now he is starting to look like a sharp ei. A man-sharpei is not so attractive. Two, the breathing! OMG the heavy, sniffly breathing is driving me nuts. I can’t take him seriously. Three, he has such a limited range that he is starting to repeat himself. I caught several expressions/sentences he’s already uttered a few million times since 24 started. For example:  Leaning over some guy who is dying, blood all over the place, Keif’ says “Stay with me! Stay with me!”. We, the audience already know the guys is going to die [BTW: this guy is obviously the equivalent of the STAR TREK red shirt dead man walking] So the drama really doesn’t work that much anymore when we already know who’s going to die. And that’s the thing about all those “End of the world” shows, how can you top yourself over and over again? How can you make the situation/peril worst than last season? Pretty tall order I imagine. Bu then again, it just got canceled so they won’t need to come up with the next world annihilation scenario.

Monday, March 22, 2010

043 Catch up

Working Girl









All the drama we thought was behind us is back, bigger than ever. But guess what? I am not annoyed. No, I am actually able to stand back and let the drama unfold.
The Zen way.
They need me in Los Angeles, no question about it. The “unrealistically ginormous” deadline -one of many- is on May 10th. They made the mistake of lending me “and my skills” to another project for a couple of weeks and now that the other project is moving to New York, they want me to go with them for a month. Someone is going to have to either give in completely or compromise [the more reasonable option]. Tough little game here.  Everyone [but me] is frustrated, angry and I noticed there is a lot of posturing back and forth.
The key, I have learned, is that you have to just shut it and observe. Let everyone around you go through the motions, because in the end, they will just end up doing the predictable thing. I know these people, I work with them all the time, I understand the dynamics of the relationships, I can predict "group behavior" most of the time.
We will know soon enough who is going to loose ... My bet? I stay in LA.

We just lost another competition. Our own fault of course. I doesn’t change the fact that it sucks and we’re all pissed off about it. The controversy is all over the papers. Millions of dollars, just out of reach.

Cry Baby
It’s hot as hell in LA right now and I live near the beach, I can’t even imagine what’s going on inland [that's what they call the areas way away from the water]. I rarely complain when it’s cold or when it rains which is a small miracle in itself. But when the temperature starts to rise and won’t go down for weeks at a time, when the sun is shinning and the sky is constantly blue, we all get cranky.

I want it!
I just ordered a netbook even though I already have the top of the line, hardcore laptop with all the fancy programs in it, I feel I need the netbook just for writing. Maybe it’ll help me get stuff done faster and better. I can’t wait, I’m just like a kid in an candy store. I’ll just have to make sure I don’t leave for New York before the thing gets delivered.
I’ve picked up the screenplay and I have started the final rewrite. I am thinking about continuing the story, making this thing more episodic. It might make the next screenplay easier to develop if I already have a solid base/core to work with. I just don’t know if it is going to be enough but with the new netbook and all the fancy hardware and tools I should be able to write a masterpiece [jooooking of course].
I started to model the ship in Maya. It's just not looking like I want it to and the renderings look too plastic-y, this is turning out to be way more complicated than I first thought. No matter, it will get done.


The Light Box
Nothing new or interesting on TV, so I am watching Star Trek: TNG. A friend of mine went to China and bought a box set of all seasons. The whole thing is obviously not “kosher”, so not, that a bunch of the episodes are cut off before the end. But it’s still cool. I am up to season 2 and enjoying every minute of it. What a freaking nerd! Seriously.
I forget to mention that there is still the issue of Caprica that I can’t get away from. I just don’t like it and it is frustrating. That’s another show I won’t be able to add to my entertainment lineup. Although I am still taping and still watching every episode, I just can’t get into it. The season finally is coming up fast and I am bored already. Why can't they just do it right? Like SGU.

Sweet Revenge
My neighbor finally got the message. She stopped blasting her damn music all over the neighborhood. I was going out of my mind. I did manage to exert some revenge on the B. Just flushed the toilet while she was taking a shower. I heard the scream and the expletive, I smiled, it was just soooo good.

Tuesday, March 9, 2010

042 Ancient Futures

I almost fainted this weekend. I was running on the treadmill, doing very well and thinking the whole time that I should just go ahead and run the whole 5k, when all of a sudden, I had to stop and I tell my trainer “I need to sit down, right now.”
For the next five minutes I kept thinking that I didn’t want to be taken out of there in an ambulance [fool] and just hoped everything would be alright. It took me a few minutes but eventually I felt much better and told the trainer I was ready to start the workout. I knew I wasn’t back to 100% because the whole time I had this ring of fragmented light around my left pupil, following me everywhere. That lasted about another two hours and then it disappeared [and I never heard from it again…] I feel very old.

Pandorum
Last weekend I finally go the opportunity to watch Pandorum. I am annoyed it took me some time especially since I knew about the movie the moment it went into production, so it’s not like I didn’t anticipate the thing. Strangely, I don’t have much to say about it. The first mistake I made was to watch it while I was doing other things and so in the end, I got confused on some of the story premises and missed some key explanations.
Overall:
First, I have to say, they got a sick poster.
Second, the whole premise of a sci-fi horror such as this one, you know, the “OMG I’m stuck on this ship in the middle of nowhere and there is a monster after me,” I think works in this movie. It is entertaining even if the formula is pretty standard.  I do wonder about the end. We find out the ship at reached its destination a very long time ago and that it had been resting at the bottom of the ocean all this time.  So they were not lost in space after all. Although it was pretty creepy when they look out the ship and saw what they thought was space but without stars, just blackness … Really creepy.
We get a Hollywood ending! The last two people to survive being awake on the ship manage to trigger the release of the “life pods” [don’t remember if that’s how they called it] there is nothing ambiguous about the ending, everybody is supposed to wake up floating in this alien ocean, ready to restart the human race, Yeah! After all that stress and darkness, we get all this light and happiness.
Eden [the ship]:
What a lame ass name for a ship. I mean, it’s not like we haven’t heard this one a thousand times …
The only thing I can say about it is that we have a ship that looks and feels old but in the “future" and that's always cool. It feels claustrophobic and [paradoxically] gigantic at the same time.
The characters:
Other than Dennis Quaid, everybody else was pretty much “standard” and expected. Dennis was the creepy one. Although the “mutants” were not bad either, I wasn’t very impressed, just disgusted and when we find out that they are actually reproducing, I almost vomited right then and there.
The existential questions:
The only think that really hooked me up and made me actually have a conversation or two about the subject was the issue of humanity as a concept. What makes us human? Or to be more precise, what gives us our humanity?
Are we born with it? Or what makes us who we are, “human” is our environment and the context that gives us boundaries onto which we develop consciousness. When Dennis Quaid finds himself confronted with a reality where he is alone on a ship, lost in some weird black-space, with no hope, he becomes his own god, boundless and omnipotent. I just found that notion intriguing. Of course, it always ends badly.

Two days after watching this movie, I saw an episode of Star Trek:TNG called "Homeward" (season 1.) Not a very good season, but in this episode, they violated the first directive and revealed themselves to a man who lived on an isolated planet where they didn’t even have electricity. Of course Beverleyyyy cannot erase his memory because of his unique physiology [it always happens like that of course] and Picard cannot send him back without risking even more disruption. Anyway, in the end, the man tells Picard that he has lost everything that defines him. He’s lost all that gave him an identity and the Picard and eventually he kills himself because he can’t adapt.
Weird.

Monday, February 15, 2010

041 Seasonal Intrigues

First there was Battlestar Gallactica ... The most frustrating thing ever.
It’s the perfect story formula for me. It’s a ship based show [beautiful ships and visual effects], it’s in space and to top it all off, there is a flawed human race in jeopardy and a bunch of pretty fancy robots dying to kill them all and love them all at the same time. Perfect.
Question: How is it possible that I and other people I know never managed to get into it?
I tried several times and every time I just kind of dropped off. I will continue to try from time to time, but I just don’t know what else I can do. So I try to stay away, I try to not find out how the series ends, just in case I get into it, I’ll till have something to look forward to.

When I saw The Plan, it took me 2 days to finish it. I couldn’t really get into it either and forced myself to watch because of my personal history behind the scenes, but in the end, I was just confused by the story and realized [while I was watching it] that I was missing all the subtleties of the story. The characters and relationships meant nothing to me. I subsequently heard from many sources that it wasn’t all that in the first place … I tend to believe it.

 Caprica.
The sequel-prequel [or whatever people call it these days] I am taping religiously every week, but haven't really been watching regularly. I didn't really like the first episode. Too many teenagers, bad underworld/party orgy world, slow and segmented story ... I didn’t really understand how they were going to stretch this storyline for the duration of the series. I also noticed, once again, that even though we were told that there was no need to be familiar with Battlestar Gallactica, it was obvious to me that I was missing some key points that re-connected with the events that would unfold in the next 58 years. That's annoying. Anyway, that's all in the past now, we are further in the season and even though I am behind in all my viewings, there is one positive … I liked the second episode a lot better than the first one. I mean, that robot is really something, it can even be hugged.

Ax Men.
Occasional the History Channel takes a break from Hitler, WWI and WWII to bring us some of the best, underrated shows ever. Ax Men is one of those. Greeeaat show [in its own way of course]. I am not sure how I got hooked on it, but it’s really entertaining. It's about a bunch of sweaty men [nothing sexy about it], cutting wood in the forest. This season, they’re all hot [temperature wise] and miserable in the scorching sun of summer in Oregon or somewhere around there. It's very similar to Deadliest Catch [where we just lost Captain Phil Harris - that was shocking to me] and Ice Road Truckers.
The two best parts of Ax Men so far this season:
- They occasionally reenact what could happen in the many dangerous situations. It’s a small animation where several men end up dead every time and it even includes some “death and destruction” sound effect. It’s just precious.
- The father and son team is back in action, in the swamps again. They decided to leave their home and drive their truck to the swamp to work for a water-logger. Here is the series of events that follow [In chronological order]:
-The truck breaks down on the freeway.
-Some guy tows then into town, the breaks fail and they run into the towing truck.
-Twice.
-The towing guy can’t believe they actually drove this piece of sh*t. They are forced to fly to the swamp … Late.
-Their new boss immediately takes them on his boat which later hits a log hidden in the water, almost capsizing the whole crew.
-They finally arrive at the location where the boss has stored the new boat [bought especially for the father and son pair]. Boat collision - first ding.
-The father tells his son to jump on the bank to tie the boat, the son falls in the water. It was a funny and amazingly cartoonish kind of fall.
All of this within the first 10 minutes of their return to the show. Amazing.

Fringe
 I have a lot of friends who used to be fans of the X-files and I can't get then to watch Fringe. I keep saying that it's the same thing, the same tension between the characters and the same story structure. It's fun to watch the 1 hour story on each episode and then get some hints at the bigger picture. It's a show that is just as frustrating as Lost. Which is why I eventually stopped watching Lost after 2 seasons. I just couldn't help it. I actually taped the whole 2nd season and watched all the episodes together and I was still not getting anything out of it. So, I slowly checked out and never went back. I might do it one day, hopefully the final season are going to give all the answers and I can watch the series all at once.
Anyway, Fringe is alright and if you can get past the Dawson's Creek flashback, this series should be a short but fun ride. [ I say short because it's on the verge of getting canceled. I am not even sure it's going to make it for another season. We'll see.]


24 - Blah, blah, blah ... blah.
Alright, alright, I started watching the thing again ... And I can't stand it. I had to include this in the Seasonal Intrigues because I wanted to point out that the way I feel about David Caruso in CSI:Miami is now equal to the way I feel about Kiefer Sutherland. I won't go into detail again, just go click here for previous rants on the matter. The problem on 24 other than the obvious flaws in story line, action sequence and the overall boredom that seems to take over me when I watch an episode this season, yes, other than that, Jack Bower [aka K.S.] is breathing way too loud. And for the breathing to actually come through, I can only imagine how loud it must be on the set, the sound guys must be going nuts with this. It has made it impossible for me to watch the thing without rolling my eyes. I have been on a deadline so I have been listening/watching the show on my computer, in the background. I don't know how many episodes I can continue this for. We'll see.

That's it for the current seasonal intrigues of January and February 2010. The games are going to slow everything down of course but that's only going to make things more interesting when everything comes back to normal.

Monday, February 8, 2010

040 From D. Blue

(cree par Hubert De Latigue)

Friday, February 5, 2010

039 Facts and Fiction

Irony #1
A few days ago there was a whole thing going on “on the other side”, three people were going to have to move to NY (potentially) because their project is moving there. For once I am on the outside looking in. It was a pleasant experience. Talkin’- gossipin’ about what’s going on, who’s doing what and whatever.
My enjoyment of the moment lasted about 2 seconds, when I was somehow sucked into the vortex.
For some obscure and convoluted reason, I am now the one who is going to be told to move there. I went from being an innocent bystander to –well, the star of the show, just like L Gaga.

Irony #2
I don’t really think I know what I want.

Miscellaneous fictitious happenings:
Star Trek Next Generation -- Saw a great Star Trek episode the other night. Data “one of a kind” gets kidnapped by a collector who coerces him into doing a series of things (changing clothes and sit on a chair). The collector is very mean.
Anyway, at the end, Data points a phaser at the collector, there is a whole discussion about taking a life and Data’s programming and as Data presses the trigger, he is transported back on the Enterprise. While in the transporter O’Brian (hate that guy) tells Number one (Riker) that there is a weapon with Data and that the weapon is discharging. They disable it and data appears on the ship. When Riker asks him “What is that all about?” Data says “There must have been a malfunction, sir.”
OMG, not only was Data about to take a life, he also lied to Riker. Jeez.











Facts:
#1 I have been working everyday non stop for 5 weeks. We go to Starbucks everyday.
Is there a reward at the end?
#2 It’s wet in LA (again) and these idiots still haven’t learned how to drive in the rain.
#3 Worked on another interview for a certain SciFi show.
#4 I love my new Dr Dre stylin’ headphones.













#5 My team and I have officially been called "The design Technology Team." What a bunch of nerds we are!

Sunday, January 17, 2010

038 Checking in.

Laziest thing this week:
On this post (now getting pretty rare) i have decided to disregard spelling, caps, etc, etc ... it's just easier this way.

Most annoying thing this week:
This guys comes over to me, looks into my eyes and asks me how my saturday is going. i look at him, thinking what the fuck kind of dumb ass question is this? i am sitting at my desk, in front of my computer ... AT WORK!!

idiot.

Funniest tv moment:
Laughed out loud yesterday when i watched Modern Family. Ed O'Neil who plays the father/grandfather figure in the series asks his son how the fortune cookie is doing. He is referring to the asian baby his son has adopted. Damn priceless.

Pathetic tv moment:
I am on a mad rush to watch all the shows i have on my DVR because i am constantly at 98%. Why? Well, that's an excellent question. Last season i taped all the SGU episodes and I haven't watched anything yet. i get into this kind of thing where i keep stuff for later and them i am unable to enjoy it. it either expires (in case of lotions and other similar type of products) or in this case, a DVR malfunction. i could loose the shows before i get the chance to watch any of it. it's pathetic but there is a threshold with me. once i cross the line, i can't do it anymore. I am not a hunter, i am a gatherer.

Flashback moment:
I finally got my "starsky and hutch" pair of glasses. i love it.
I found a great podcast show by Will Wheaton from ST:NG. he's weird and makes me think of the latE 80's early 90's type of personality (the two Coreys come to mind immediately). the perfect slightlty pathetic child start who is trying to get away from what made him famous by writing a book about what made him famous. talk about irony.


(Gladys is coming back soon. got the story, just need to write it. Could be a while.)

Thursday, December 17, 2009

037 Millions of years ago

I haven't written in a million years...
First I was busy, then I got sick for a few days,
then i got angry and then I got bored.










 then did this










 and this









 and experimented with that


Life is hard sometimes.

http://morphopedia.com/projects/tangents-and-outtakes/gallery/perot-museum-of-nature-science/1/

Monday, November 2, 2009

036 Gladys' Shadow

Gladys is slowly waking up. The sun shines through the blinds. She looks away, the light is too strong, it hurts her eyes. Bubble the fat and hairy cat jumps on the bed and walks back and forth against her face. Eyes shut, she can feel bubble’s fur rubbing on her skin. With a deep sigh, Gladys sits up, pushing the cat away. Bubble is not happy and with a deep growl, jumps off the bed and walks out of the room without a single glance back.
Gladys stands up, her legs are wobbly and she reaches out to the wall opposite her bed to steady herself. Her head is spinning now and the light is still hurting her eyes.
Dressed in pajama, hair in a tangled mess, Gladys leaves her bedroom and goes down the stairs. She is still struggling with dizziness as she walks down each step holding on to both handrails for support.
As she reaches the bottom of the stairs, she notices a faint aroma in the air … Fresh brewed coffee. The smell is comforting and strangely familiar and yet, Gladys feels a small twinge of worry in the pit of her stomach. She doesn’t drink coffee. Never has. Her mother always insisted she drink tea and she has never strayed from it.
As she approaches the kitchen, she hears voices. They seem so distant, she can’t understand what they are saying. Someone is definitely inside her house. The worry she felt a second ago has blossomed and turned into fear and … anger. It is the anger that propels her forward. She turns the corner and stands inside the kitchen threshold. The sunlight coming in through the garden windows is blinding her. The light is strong and Gladys lifts her hand up to protect her eyes.

“You’re awake. I was beginning to worry about you. Coffee?”

A tall dark man is sitting at her kitchen table. His face is shadowed by a large black fedora. He is wearing a long trench coat. The bottom edge is resting on the tiled floor. Across from him is a steaming cup of coffee. Gladys spots a pot filled with coffee on the stove. He must have brought it with him, there are no coffee beans in her house. Low voices are coming out of the old radio she keeps in the kitchen.

“Coffee?”

Her eyes move back towards the stranger.

“What are you doing in my house?”

Instead of answering, the stranger picks up the coffee cup in front of him and slowly lifts it to his mouth. Silently, he takes a sip. She can’t see his eyes, the hat is casting a shadow across his face, but somehow, she knows he is looking at her. She is afraid now, no longer angry. There is something about his stillness that terrifies her.

“Who ... Who are you?”

This time Gladys can hear the fear and uncertainty in her own voice. She can barely get the words out and she isn’t sure she will be able to say anything more.

“Well, I am here to kill you of course.”


[End Part I]

Wednesday, October 28, 2009

035 ... The most Pathetic Blog entry to date [for real]

Work, work, work.
We work so much, we are actually at the office for a two week period when only one week has passed.
We are so tired, we all do stupid things all the time. It's funnyyy and  pathetic at the same time. A few hours ago I actually tried to open my apartment door with my car alarm. I only realized what I was doing when I heard a loud "horn" sound coming from down the street [i.e. my car]
Another friend at work asked a co-worked what file was he wearing?
The staff at the Starbucks down the street know our names now. I've already used the word pathetic so I really shouldn't use it again, but I can't think of a more appropriate word to describe the situation.
I haven't written on this blog for a very long time because I can barely stay focused for more than a few minutes. Same thing for the TV. No point in watching good stuff, I just won't pay attention and it will all be for nothing. I am loosing it fast ...  got ...to ..go ... to ...bed.
I am posting it without proofreading the thing. it's going to take me a while to complete this entry. I guess we all have our burden to carry.

Friday, October 9, 2009

034 J'espere ...

My best wish of the week:
When we discussed prototyping the other day, Marty asked me what would be the ultimate 3d physical model – prototyping technique we could use in the office. I told him that what I want doesn’t exist yet. If we’re not going to make something with our hands, if we are no longer going to go through the actual process of “making” and instead send a file to the 3d printer and get someone in the shop to do it, well I then think what we need is a 3d physical modeling technique that is as fast and as cheap as a screen refresh. Millisecond refresh rate, millisecond model making … for zero dollar. THAT’s my ultimate. He laughed at that, but I still stand by what I said. Don’t ask these questions if you can’t handle the answer.

The best conversation I’ve had in a while:
In the meantime, Satoru and I have been having an ongoing conversation about what we could hook up to a USB key [laptop is a must] while at work. Here is what we have come up with so far:
- A cup of coffee. Just imagine, you get your coffee cup hooked on your laptop. The cup heats up and keeps track of where you are with the levels and caffeine intake. Always know where you stand … it’s important.
- A cooling plate with a small ventilator or a mini AC machine. It’s hot in our office, we need the air.
- A hologram of my model. Making it easy to work with model stuff and instantly see as it would be, in 3d.
- Speaking of 3d, we need a USB key – milling machine to mill mini version of our models.
… The list is growing …

The best life strategy I came up with recently:
I’m dying for a gigantic earthquake right now. I need a short vacation, just enough so that I can relax and ignore work-architecture-alarm clocks and responsibilities.
This might be quite a drastic measure, just to avoid the things that consume most of my life. What the hell, we don’t get the time off from work, so we can only rely on death and natural disasters.

The most embarrassing thing that happened to me today:
I got voted best person of the week at Mo0rphosis. What the fuck does that mean?

The best lifestyle choices I made today:
Cheetos for breakfast, Coffee for lunch and I think I might even go for some cheese tonight. Live dangerously, that’s how it’s done.

Monday, October 5, 2009

033 Starge Universe [SGU]


We have been waiting for this one for a very, very long time. The buzz was intense, the rumors multiplying ten fold as the months went by and the expectations grew along with it.There is something weird and “special” [as is special olympic special] about that franchise. There is no casual viewer, only those who are devoted to it and those who hate it. I understand both sides although I have been involved peripherally with it in the past few months, I can say that I was waiting this premiere with anticipation. I was never a real fan of SG1. For a very long time I just didn’t get it. And it’s only when it got canceled that I actually started to watch the show and realized that yes, there may be something to it even if I still found myself rolling my eyes once in a while. I never liked Atlantis and only started watching in during its final season. Once again, I missed the boat even if at the time, I really felt that if anything this was a sinking ship to begin with. I mean, none of this stuff should be seen as anything but clear, simple entertainment. The fact that SG1 actually lasted more than 4 seasons [10 total] is in itself a miracle. The miracle is that it happened to be in the right place at the right time and that’s very rare these days.

Universe: So, here I am storing the show on my DVR and thinking that for the first time ever, I am actually going to watch this series from the start. It was difficult, I kept it tucked away for three days before I worked up the courage to watch it. I was working on an interview [The Joel Goldsmith one] and was unfortunately given a lot of information about the season before even watching the first episode. So I knew more than I should have when I finally watched it. "Air" [Title of the episode] is a great departure although it could be said that it is not so different at all. The creative team is exactly the same, those guys are still there working at it. To say they are reinventing the wheel but then use the same team to make it, is in my mind a conflicting statement.
It is trying very hard to be different. To be about the characters and not just an action flick. To be mindful of the viewers who are not so stupid after all. To give us a little bit of the darkness in Battlestar Galactica without loosing the fun-careless action of previous Stargate seems to be a tall order. I guess it works in some ways but right now, it’s borderline too dark. Hopefully things get more varied as the shows go on. I hope they can strike a balance.
I know it is probably unfair to judge the show on the premiere episode, but I would think that they would make those first two hours, the best two hours possible. I don’t think they succeeded in that regard. Even if as a whole, the series is more story and character based, I think that the first two hours need to establish more of a hook, a connection for the viewer to hang on to. I think these first two hours were treated too much like a regular episode, I think it needs to be more flashy. Same thing with the characters, it’s difficult to become part of the story and to care about the people because they are already [for the most part] showing way too many weaknesses and flaws. They should build more on that as things evolve rather than throw it all in our faces right away. It’s the disappointment, the discovery, the reversal that makes things interesting. Being curious about a character only to find out later that there is something wrong about him or her is the best part.
The guests: The cast of SG1 [of course Atlantis always gets left in the dirt with these things] makes a brief appearance and I have to say … They all looked really old except for Michael Shanks. That was just weird. Not enough to be completely distracting, but just plain weird.
The music: I don’t think it worked at all. There was nothing that really made it special. I understand they want to stay away from the aesthetic of previous shows and I think that was a good idea. But they need to establish an identity, something recognizable even if it’s subtle and minimalist. The ship is its own thing, for the first time it’s obvious that the Destiny is going to be a character and not just a set. I love that.

Did I manage to talk about SGU without actually voicing a specific opinion? I think I want to leave it vague because it’s only the first episode and I want to give them the chance to show that they are as awesome as they say they are.

Sunday, September 27, 2009

032 OMG, He does care about us.

I must be overreacting again. It happens to me often enough that I am not always sure I actually mean it. [if that makes any sense.]
I just saw a full on, legitimate commercial for a “special” medication. Ah! wait for this one, it’s priceless …
Woman can now grow fuller, longer, darker and better EYELASHES!!! It's a miracle.

No more of that “Oh, Boubou, you look a little tired, have you gained weight?”, “Shenee, is this you? OooMaaaGooosh what happen to your eyes?” Or the Nene [Housewives of Atlanta] type answer “Damn Kim, did you get in a fight with some clippers or something? Looks like you lost you eye hair. Well, at least you look surprised and alert, all the time now.“

Please, kill me now. I can’t believe that pharmaceutical companies spend so much money like this. The research, the marketing and the commercial … it’s beyond ridiculous. There are countless diseases out there that kill millions of people all over the world. And if people of America don’t care about the people of the world, well, let me rephrase: “There are countless diseases that kill thousands of people all over America.” [South America and Canada not included in this statement]
I mean, if they really, really want to waste money on useless shit, I can help. I mean it’s true, I rarely come up with something useful, although I myself never though about the eyelashes situation per se. Sounds pretty serious. And it is a genius idea to drop millions of dollars on eyelash rejuvenation. Thank God they made a commercial explaining the crisis. Hiring Brooke Shields was also another genius idea. They must have a few of them out there or was it just divine intervention? Well, however it happened, we definitely need strong, proud and level headed women who are not be afraid to talk about their own eyelash situation.

Anyway, everyone: Enjoy the eyelash commercial. At the end they recommend you go see a doctor, because of course you need a prescription for this particular “remedy.” So, now the doctors and the insurance companies are also sharing in the bounty of our stupidity. Hey, that’s what they do in China. They spread the wealth all around. And from what I hear, it's a country full of really happy people.

Wednesday, September 23, 2009

031 The Problem with Lambda


We’re back making architecture this week. The project was introduced to the press, we went public ... Now it’s time to get going [Seriously]. The problem we are facing is that a portion of the design  was represented conceptually. There is a major component that is explicit and readable as architectural form. And then, there is another that is suggested rather than clearly stated [it's complicated].

Obviously, put the two together and you create a certain ambiguity. For people “in the know,” it’s completely fine and may even be playfully stated, but for the common “man” it is somewhat confusing. They default back to trying to connect the forms to something they know, something they are familiar with . And if our model and renderings mix explicit representation with implicit meaning things just get impossible to sort through. The goal was simple, the intent clear but the resolution was ambiguous.

Friday, September 18, 2009

030 Summer Television Fling

My 2009 summer TV adventures:
Summer is ending this weekend and so are all our summer shows. It wasn't a fling, more like research [and I say this with a straight face] I watched a lot of it for fun. Prerequisite is definitely low brain activity.
Mostly, I am looking for help while on a quest for inspiration: Stuff like good scripts, directing, character developments and good plots. I selfishly try to understand how to put a good story together. I got my own thing going.
Some of the shows feel like fill-ins and miss the mark, others are actually worth something.
And then, there are the guilty pleasures. In general, the summer choices are limited -- I deal with it.

THE CLOSER [season 5]
The classic well acted, well written, witty, funny show I will watch until it ends.


Ooh yeah, I really like that show. I fell into it randomly when I was in Europe. I was just looking for anything that wasn’t dubbed. Even though I speak french, I get angry when I have to watch something dubbed in ANY language really. And French television automatically "dubbs" everything [Is that a word?]. That’s just a shame. I keep thinking that they would be better served by limiting the amount of American shows they keep playing thus avoiding the "constant dubbing effect." Luckily the Dutch are still using subtitles [not enough people speaking that language to justify dubbing the shows] and so The Closer was one of the shows I watched. Once I got back in the US, I immediately added it to my DVR and have been taping it ever since.

Every episode this season was good and oh so deliciously classic. The body stuffed inside the cooler episode just says it all. It really looked like they made a real effort. Just like CSI did after loosing William Petersen [Grissom]. The guys on The Closer are pros, they know what they’re doing and it shows. And now Kyra Sedgwick’s got her daughter involved in this. With Kevin directing, this is becoming a real family affair. The only annoying thing about the show is that Kyra Sedgwick has really really ugly hands. I noticed it a couple of seasons ago [Kim Bassinger has the same problem]. I was kind of getting over it when "someone" who was watching it with me made a comment. THAT was funny.

DEFYING GRAVITY [new]
The surprise -- Anonymous show I don’t know what to think of.


This one snuck up on me. ABC never really advertised it and so it came as a surprise when I flipped the channel one day and discovered it. I just don’t understand that. It’s like they want it to fail, just like Virtuosity [this one did fail]. Defying Gravity is one of the new shows FOX studio filmed in Vancouver in order to lower the cost. I have seen all the episodes, thanks to HULU. I have no idea if it will be canceled, although I would not be surprised if it was. [Go there for synopsis]
I hope that this season ends with some kind of answer because I could not handle yet another “Lost Wannabe.” Too many questions and too many unknown can be overwhelming sometimes. I actually stopped watching Lost a few seasons ago for that reason. The last 2 seasons I saw, I actually taped every episode and then watched everything at once because the wait between episodes was just too much. And even then, I was still getting frustrated. Anyway, my hope is that Defying Gravity will have more resolution and answers at the end of the season.

Do I like it? That’s another frustrating thing. Even though I am watching the thing, I still can’t decide. I am currently leaning towards “No.” I do tape every episode or if I miss one, I’ll just watch it on HULU. I skip a lot of parts, as usual to avoid the commercials, but with this series, I have been skipping actual portions of the show. I am not necessarily bored, just ready to move on.

EUREKA [season 3]
The “coup de coeur” -- Better late than never.


This is the revelation of the year for me. I have always avoided it after trying to watch it a couple of times. The problem with SYFY shows, is that they are often a too soft and turn to comedy rather than take itself a little bit more seriously. In this case, it took me a while to get into it and the only reason I started watching it in the first place is because there isn’t much of anything going on during the summer. Most shows are on hiatus and so I find myself “lowering my standards” and exploring the channel lineup a little bit more. That’s how I find little gems here and there … Such as Eureka. The season finale is coming up, too bad. I barely had time to get into it. I have however 2 more seasons of the series to watch and Colin Ferguson, genius that he is, started a Eureka podcast commentary for the show.

WAREHOUSE 13 [new]
The disappointment – that I continue to watch.


Too soft. Way too soft. I mean, I like it but at the same time I feel it’s a little bit of a “quickly put together – summer filler” type of series. The fact that it is doing really well is at least in part due to the fact that people are starving for new material and they [like me] will watch things they would never have considered watching in the Fall or Spring seasons. They are lucky to have come one when they did, because I am not sure how it would have fared against the Fall lineup and Stargate Universe. [Go there for synopsis]
The story itself is not that unique but it definitely allows for a wide range of stories. The problem is that it doesn't know if it wants to be a drama or a comedy which makes everything bland. And yet, I am still watching it.

FLIPPED OUT & HOUSEWIVES OF ATLANTA
The guilty pleasures someone could watch at night with the shades down.


If someone were to watch any of those shows it would be because they portray people that are so outrageously in denial, completely full of themselves and definitely out of touch with “our” reality, kind of like SciFi. I can’t say too much because I haven’t personally seen it [ah!] but I can’t imagine it wouldn’t get a chuckle out of anyone seeing it for the first time, actually it's much more than that, those shows are hilarious.

The real question is this: If this is so bad, why would anyone waste any time watching this tripe?



Anyway, this is in part what I was doing this summer. Now I wait impatiently for Stargate Universe, Sanctuary, Fringe, House, CSI, NCIS, Dexter, Family Guy, American Dad, Southland, The office and Community. Already annoyed by The mentalist, Parks and Recreation, Dollhouse, The Cleveland Show, Castle, Flashforward, Medium and on and on. Some of these have already started by the way.

Wednesday, September 9, 2009

029 Lifer

Before the vacation
Did a presentation on parametrics in the office. Talked about what it means to integrate those intelligent models in the early phases of design. Talked about education as it relates to parametrics. Good times.



The vacation
Went to the beach, got some sun, played with the dolphins,swam in the ocean and ate a bunch of good stuff … the typical vacation package.


After the vacation
Coming back to our dark, hot workspace in Santa Monica, I had a revelation … I feel worst coming back. I keep thinking this vacation turned out to be the biggest teaser ever. Just like prison. I get a 24hr pass to get out and do whatever I want. Knowing what’s on the outside can do more harm than never really experiencing it in the first place … I don’t think I really thought about it before, but I haven’t gone away in a year and a half. Definitely pathetic and slightly embarrassing.

Too much work in this country. 50-60 hours a week on average including many, many weekends. What do we live for then? Most people I know can’t say no. Fear is the name of the game. Shit, I say no all the time about everything, one would think I should be able to handle it.

The script is moving along. I finally got a title which I won’t reveal, it’s taken me 4 months to come up with it. Could still change, but I am confident this is going to work. I’ve marked the occasion by carving it in a bracelet. It’s not a tattoo but cool anyway.

I used to have a good full story written from start to finish, but with all the changes I have made recently, I am back to the first half outline and still puzzled as to what I am going to do with it. It’s an I’m excited but freaking out moment.
The enemy is back to a generic entity although it has some specific characteristics that will drive the story [Good stuff]. The main character is much better but too weak right now, I have to rework him – urgently, it’s driving me nuts.
In a moment of inspiration I have decided to start on some of the Maya [dynamics] animations for the ship and the station. There's not enough time, I really need to figure out a way to make it part of my R&D at work. Kill two birds with one stone … Or whatever that expression is.

I got yet another interview done for the guys. This one is again with Joe Flanigan. He was good in SGA but with the exception of a guest spot on Warehouse 13 he hasn’t done much – That’s unfortunate.

Monday, August 10, 2009

028 District 9


Well I finally went to see it. And I don’t regret it. I have been worried about seeing another movie of that caliber because my screenwriting experience is really ruining everything for me. I now know the inner workings of story telling, the tricks of the trade, the hidden meanings.
It’s disturbing.
It’s making it very difficult to watch something and enjoy it “innocently.” So I tried to play it dumb while watching District 9, it worked … To a point.
The interesting peculiarities of this movie are subtle and I am sure that there are a lot of people viewing this movie who wouldn’t necessarily know why they like or dislike it.
The main thing is that this movie is clearly not Hollywood-made. And that makes a huge difference. Different rhythm, different story, different sensibility all around. It’s refreshing but it also emphasizes how much we are used to and influenced by the Hollywood-type of story telling.
In a weird way, I would also argue that the story is not about aliens at all. The issues at hand here are about humanity and/or lack thereof. Of course, the best Sci-Fi stories always weave classic human struggles in a fantastic setting. Here we are dealing with refugees, political and social unrest, ethnic cleansing and segregation. [To name only a few] The setting -- Johannesburg -- is the perfect location to explore those particular issues. And let’s not forget the subtle and yet obvious sprinkling of innuendos and cryptic references to something suspiciously similar to apartheid. [And district 6 for those in the know]

Wikus Van De Merwe is annoyingly failing as a human being every step of the way. Up until the end, he persists on being the anti-hero. As I said, this is not Hollywood and what happens to him at the end is as unsatisfactory as it can get. Christopher and his son on the other hand are from the beginning much more “human” than Wikus and dare I say it, the entire human race as it is portrayed in this movie.

Great variety of deaths all over the place, always entertaining. Love the weapons, the ship and all alien technology. I am just a sucker for that stuff. The bad Nigerian crew is just, well … bad.
And then there’s the cat food. Ingenious and disgusting. Loved it.

Finally I was impressed with the special effects. It was difficult if not impossible to differentiate alien puppets and actors in suits from full FX. Did the actors spend the whole movie talking to tennis balls? I just don’t know.
I keep reminding myself that they did this for only 30 million dollars. I don’t know if Halo with its overinflated budget of 150 million dollars would have been that much better. But that’s just my opinion.

Go see it.

Wednesday, July 29, 2009

027 There's this girl I know

Yesterday:
I was already annoyed with the world, so it didn’t take much to get me started with the eye rolling, but sometimes I just can’t help it.
There is this girl I know with whom I will never be friends. And I am totally fine with that.
Anyway, this girl was talking to someone near me. The subject of the conversation was the most stupid and anal thing, the sort of conversations girls often have. There is no point, no interest and certainly no need for it. It’s just a waste of time.
During the whole conversation she was making these baby faces and jumping up and down and then she walked away hopping and singing. What the fuck is going on here? The whole time I was thinking “What the hell is she doing?”
I realized later that she was checking out her immediate surroundings. She was trying to see if anybody was smiling or appreciating her antics. [I made a point to ignore her of course]
I mean, does she really have to act like little baby girls to get noticed? Do we need to hear her comment on her inner thoughts out loud? Because, that’s what she was doing. I was trying to put myself in the guy’s position and see if there was anything even remotely attractive about a girl playing all these games. I couldn’t figure it out. I should ask.
I might even give her some “friendly” advice and suggest that she drop the little girl routine, it’s disturbing and it's obviously not working out for her.

Today:
Oh my God! She’s freaking hopping again!

Friday, July 17, 2009

026 Working my derrière to death

Yeah that's right. My butt hurts from sitting in the same chair for 15 hours a day.
... On stupid day 7 and counting.
I have been working in 2d microstation for 60 hours. This thing is sooo slow I almost died of boredom a million times.
I hate that program with unusual passion. I feel like I have been sucked into the 2d M0rphosis black hole. [Looks pretty deep from where I'm standing]

click ... dying dying dying dying dying dying dying dying ... click

There is some positive in this whole 2d debacle ... Now I understand why everybody here has this constant vacant look on their faces ... We're bonding.

Tuesday, July 7, 2009

025 Pit of Hell you say?

Yes, that’s exactly what I say. The M0rph parking saga continues.
The water main is busted, the lot has flooded.
There is a hole now ...


No one seems to be in a hurry to fill it.
So, we pile up inside the abandoned building next door.


Pathetiiiiic ...

Saturday, July 4, 2009

024 Jesũs, help me ...

I am still sick and my voice remains completely messed up. As I said before, it was sexy the first couple of days, but now [13 days later] I am ready to move on. So, I am eating large amounts of cough drops and getting high on cough syrup to minimize the coughing fits. Not only is that strategy a complete bust, it's also bringing chaos and unrest to my life:
Gained one pound.[blame it on all the freaking sugar in the candies and the syrup]
Got a parking ticket.
Forgot to pay my power bill and was late for the final deadline. Lights are still coming on so I guess they won’t cut it off right away.
Was late on the rent.
Bought the wrong coffee table for my living room. [now I am going to obsess about this one until I can fix it]

Last week UCLA canceled my class because Michael Jackson was causing a stir in the area [being dead and all] -- the nerve.

Almost late to class this week. My car is [once again] stuck in the “three car tandem pit of hell” I have to deal with at the office.
Working there is like getting stuck on an island every day. Knowing I am not in control of the parking situation is driving me nuts.

The classroom is full of people of all ages. They all have something in common … They’re in the business of course [director, editors, actors, writers, …]
One exception … me.
There seem to be an unusually large number of inflated egos in the room. Not that I don’t appreciate it. It’s always entertaining although I don’t know how funny it will be after eight weeks. Must be something about the “biz.”

Thursday, June 25, 2009

023 Central Building London

022 I love London ... But

Random
The first thing I did when I arrived in London was to run into Alan Rickman. That’s such a random event it needs no further comment.

Freak Weather
The first thing I saw when I arrived in London was the sun, the bright blue sky and the heat. How am I supposed to appreciate London like this? Seriously.

What’s up with the carpets?
I swear, there is something going on in this country with the carpeting [colors and design] It's everywhere.

Every town has a smell … You just have to find it
I ended up in a pretty bad hotel. [wet – old – dewy] Again with the smells. I really have an issue with that. It made me want to leave early in the morning and stay out as late as possible, which I did. So maybe it wasn’t such a bad thing.

I lost something
I wasn't there for more than 24hr when I lost my voice. I caught some bug in the plane. [that’s when I came up with the idea of getting a separate air system for business class]
Bad timing since I really, really had to talk. And for some other reasons I won’t mention, I actually WANTED to talk. So, I continued to squawk and whisper in French and English as long as I could. The day I left, I couldn’t order my meal in the train. Nothing was coming out. It’s terrible.

English vs. English
They seemed to be confused with my triple accented English. I speak an English with an American accent, a French undertone and some Southern Californian flavors.
Cheers Mate!

Addiction is still alive and well
Starbucks on every cooornners!

A stereotype I was determined to verify
I keep hearing that all Ukites [those who live in UK] have bad, bad teeth. I checked. It’s not entirely true.

No Bread pudding
I ate well. Great food.

Bloody hell
Took a little tour of Zaha’s office [Unit 8, Unit 2]. Heard some gossip.

My personal nerd heaven
I saw all the guys from GT. I love them and they love me. It was fun to see everybody again. Made new “friends.” Reconciled with the Frenchies a little bit.

Cryptic clue
Looks like the nun is ready to get out of the convent.

I had fun. I could live there. [maybe]
I could work there. [for sure]

Thursday, June 11, 2009

021 Rollin' Eyes

April 28th – Paris
I am scheduled to leave Paris on May 7th (I smile at that). On April 28th I learn I have to come back asap (I definitely roll my eyes at that.)
I scramble to find tickets and apartment (involving panic attack, favors and bribes). I pull it off: I am scheduled to come back to Paris May 17th -- until June 15th. I plan meetings with family and doctors appointment in Europe. I am excited that I will be there to see “Le Tour De France” arrive in Paris.
I breathe a sigh of relief … That lasts 3 days.

May 5th – Paris
I am leaving Paris in a few days ... My trip back to Paris scheduled May 17th is canceled.
They say "When you get to LA on May 7th, you should stay there for a while."
I cancel all flights and apartment. I cancel meetings with family and doctors appointment in Europe. I come to terms with the fact that I won’t see “Le Tour De France” arrive in Paris.
I ask “How long of a while is it?”
They answer “We don’t know.”
I ask louder “Well, when are you going to know? I need to plan my life a little bit.”
They answer again “We don’t know.”
I think “Fools.”

May 10th – Los Angeles
They say "You will be here at least until the end of August."

May 12th – Los Angeles
I am told that I need to go back to Paris starting at the beginning of June until the end of July.
I say “Are you fucking serious?” (I think the expletive)
They answer “Sorry, we really need you there now.”
I think “Shit, here we go again.”
This is going to hurt. I rebook all flights and apartment. I rebook meetings with family and doctors appointment in Europe. I am excited that I will be there to see “Le Tour de France” arrive in Paris.

May 29th – Los Angeles
I am told that the trip needs to be canceled. So I am not going back at least until September or October.
They say "We don't know exactly when."
I think “Yeah, what a damn surprise.” A lot of eye rolling that day.
I cancel all flights and apartment. I cancel meetings with family and doctors appointment in Europe. I come to terms with the fact that I won’t see “Le Tour De France” arrive in Paris.

June 5th – Los Angeles
I decide to sign up for a night class at UCLA during the summer. Tired of not being able to plan anything.

June 5th (still) – Los Angeles
Later that day I am told that they are going to allow me to participate to a symposium in London on the 23rd and 24th. But since I am there, I should really stay the whole week and go to the office in Paris.
I am missing my first class on June 25th.

June 10th – Los Angeles

They say “We are thinking about canceling this London trip.”
I smile and say nothing. I think plenty.

Wednesday, June 3, 2009

020 Workout Song

Dragged myself to the gym this weekend.
Exotic smells of all kinds.
Hard to describe.
Whoever said you should breathe through your mouth to avoid the smell was an idiot … It doesn’t work.
Now I can taste it too.
Some guy is grunting and moaning while working out.
He’s listening to music, he can’t hear himself.
Everybody else can.

Annoying. I hate it.

Friday, May 29, 2009

019 IT (First Draft)

Finally I am writing IT. 70 pages done and at least 40 more to go. The first draft was printed yesterday. IT has been a long time coming. I am obsessing again.
Putting IT on paper was the right thing to do. I'll just need 50 million dollars to transform IT into a great movie. [So clever there]
IT is turning out alright.
Having a hard time finding names for my characters. Right now IT looks like this (sample):
TRAD 1 -- Trader #1
MECH -- Mechanic
CHI -- Child
(also: SS01, PS01, NUM2, ORI, MERC, ... )

IT had a great title, but it's been done before. I got to find something new. It's critical. Hardest thing ever.

Next week I am starting 3D models for the main locations.

SS01 sketch